Butcher:
That's for attacking players. Defenders have to ground it with their hands. It was a great call under a ton of pressure.
The clause I have quoted doesn`t differentiate between attacking or defending players. There isn`t any other specific rule.
So it wasn`t a great call by the ref at all. Just a demonstration of his lack of knowledge of the rules.
Law 21.1 The ball can be grounded in in-goal:by holding it and touching the ground with it; or,by pressing down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck.